The library resources are available to all for legal research and study. However, borrowing privileges are extended ONLY to those who are:
- Judiciary personnel
- Individuals issued a current Hawaii State Bar Association membership card
- Attorneys who are actively licensed to practice law in the state of Hawai‘i
- Affiliate members who are licensed and in good standing in other States
- Individuals issued a current Supreme Court Law Library card*
- Support staff sponsored/employed by an attorney holding an active license to practice law in the state of Hawai‘i
- Individuals registered to take the next Hawai‘i State Bar Examination
- Pro se litigants who present a recent court-stamped document relating to their active court case in Hawai‘i
- Members of the Hawai‘i State Legislature, and legislative service agencies
|*How to Obtain a Library Card|
There is no charge for the initial card. Replacement cards are assessed a $25.00 fee.
|Circulation of Materials|
|Borrowing of library books and materials is generally governed by the Library’s Circulation Policy.
Materials with white charge-out cards may be checked out by authorized borrowers who must present a valid Judiciary ID, HSBA membership card, or Supreme Court Law Library card each time materials are checked out. The loan period is two (2) weeks and the library reserves the right to limit the number of books on a specific subject that can be checked out by an individual during the same loan period. Materials may be renewed for up to two (2) consecutive loan periods and can be made in-person or over the phone. Borrowed materials should be returned to the Circulation/Reference Desk during the library business hours of 7:45 am – 4:15 pm.
|Fines and Fees|
|Fines will be imposed on all overdue materials. Regular loans will incur a non-refundable $1.00 per day (except Saturdays, Sundays and State holidays) charge for each item. Special or limited loans will incur a non-refundable $5.00 fine for each half-hour or fraction thereof, 24 hours per day regardless of the day of the week or state holiday, charge for each item. Library materials not returned within 60 days after the due date will be considered lost. The replacement cost of lost or damaged items are based on the current price of the item (or its equivalent), plus a $5.00 processing fee, and will be charged in addition to any overdue fines. A user’s borrowing privileges will be suspended until all overdue fines and replacement costs are paid in full.|
Consult the Hawaii State Law Library Handbook for the complete Circulation Policy.